The website is currently under maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may cause
Incorporated in
2010
Countries
'Belgium', 'Czech Republic', 'Denmark', 'France', 'Germany', 'Italy', 'Poland', 'Portugal', 'Spain', 'Sweden', 'Switzerland'
Contact

European Charter of Cistercian abbeys and sites
10310 Clairvaux (FRANCE)
abbaye.clairvaux@orange.fr

La Route européenne des abbayes cisterciennes

Il y neuf siècles, Robert de Molesme fondait le "Nouveau Monastère" de Cîteaux, suivant les principes de la règle de Saint Benoît : prier loin du monde et vivre du travail de ses mains. Parti de Bourgogne en 1098, l’Ordre cistercien s’est rapidement développé sur tout le continent européen, rassemblant quelque 750 abbayes d’hommes et 1 000 monastères de moniales.

Présentation 

Abbaye de l'Escaladieu, Bonnemazon, France

L’ordre de Cîteaux est riche d’une histoire continue jusqu’à nos jours, au coeur de l’évolution de l’Eglise romaine et des états européens. Les "moines blancs" s’y révèlent des constructeurs exemplaires, participant à l’aménagement de l’espace rural, maîtrisant les techniques hydrauliques et agricoles les plus évoluées – à travers leurs granges, celliers, moulins, forges – et contribuant depuis le Moyen Age au développement de l’art, du savoir et de la connaissance en Europe.

La Route européenne des abbayes cisterciennes propose de donner une signification au patrimoine cistercien que notre époque a reçu en héritage, à travers un tourisme de découverte rural et de qualité, des rencontres éducatives et culturelles, le recours aux nouveaux outils numériques de valorisation du patrimoine.

Association à vocation culturelle et touristique créée en 1993, la Charte européenne des abbayes et sites cisterciens fédère près de 200 sites ouverts au public dans 11 pays d’Europe, gérés par des administrations publiques locales et nationales, des particuliers, associations culturelles. Associant un comité scientifique composé de chercheurs, historiens et archéologues, la Charte assure la formation permanente et la transmission de la culture cistercienne à travers l’Europe.

08/03/2016 - 13:41

Formation pour les guides touristique de la Charte

1
2

The website is currently under maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may cause
Incorporated in
2010
Countries
'Belgium', 'Czech Republic', 'Denmark', 'France', 'Germany', 'Italy', 'Poland', 'Portugal', 'Spain', 'Sweden', 'Switzerland', 'United Kingdom'
Contact

European Charter of Cistercian abbeys and sites
10310 Clairvaux (FRANCE)
abbaye.clairvaux@orange.fr

The European Route of Cistercian abbeys

Nine centuries ago, Robert de Molesme founded the "New Monastery" of Cîteaux, following the principles of the Rule of Saint Benedict: pray far from the world and live on the work of his hands. Coming from Burgundy in 1098, the Cistercian Order grew rapidly throughout the European continent, bringing together some 750 abbeys of men and 1 000 monasteries of nuns.

Presentation 

Escaladieu Abbey, Bonnemazon, FranceThe Cistercian Order has a rich history continues today, in the heart of the evolution of the Roman Church and the European states. The "white monks" are revealed as exemplary constructors participating in the development of rural areas, controlling the hydraulic and agricultural techniques most advanced - through their barns, cellars, mills, foundries - and contributing since the Middle Age at the development of art, knowledge and understanding in Europe.

The European Route of Cistercian abbeys proposes to give meaning to the Cistercian heritage that our age has inherited, through rural tourism of discovery and quality, educational and cultural events, use of new digital tools adapted to cultural heritage conservation and promotion.

Cultural and touristic Association created in 1993, the European Charter of Cistercian abbeys and sites unites nearly 200 sites in 11 European countries, opened to the public, managed by local and national governments, privates, cultural associations. Combining a scientific committee composed of researchers, historians and archaeologists, the Charter provides ongoing training and transmission of the Cistercian culture through Europe.