The website is currently under maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may cause
Incorporated in
1994
Countries
'France', 'Italy', 'Switzerland', 'United Kingdom'
Contact

Associazione Europea delle Vie Francigene
Registered office:
Piazza Duomo, 16, 43036 Fidenza (PR)- Italy
Headquarters:
Palazzo Farnese, Piazza della Cittadella 29, 29121 (PC)- Italy
Tel: +39 0523492792
segreteria@viefrancigene.org

La Via Francigena

L'itinéraire suit le tracé du voyage entrepris par l'archevêque de Canterbury, Sigéric, qui se rendit à Rome en 990 pour rencontrer le Pape Jean XV et recevoir le pallium de l'investiture. Les soixante dix neuf étapes recensées dans le bref journal de voyage de l'archevêque ont permis de reconstituer les principales haltes sur cette voie, la plus courte entre la mer du Nord et Rome, citée pour la première fois sous le nom de "Via Francigena" en 876.

Présentation

La Via Francigena met à l'honneur le patrimoine culturel européen commun en tant qu'expression de la diversité et de l'identité culturelles, établissant un seul itinéraire de grand intérêt à partir d'un réseau de routes tout le long desquelles l'identité et l'unité européennes se sont formées au cours des siècles.

Pour redécouvrir ce parcours de 1800 kilomètres à travers l'Angleterre, la France, la Suisse et l'Italie sur les pas des pèlerins en route pour Rome et poursuivant leur chemin vers Jérusalem ou Saint Jacques de Compostelle, l'Association européenne des Vie Francigene (AEVF) a été créée le 22 avril 2001. En tant que réseau porteur, l'AEVF s'appuie sur un partenariat entre les institutions européennes et les autorités locales attachées à valoriser le chemin de pèlerinage millénaire afin de promouvoir, en insistant sur la durabilité, des mesures de développement de la Via Francigena pour en faire un véritable atout culturel et touristique, vu non seulement son importance culturelle mais aussi son rôle potentiel de catalyseur du développement local.

The website is currently under maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may cause
Incorporated in
1994
Countries
'France', 'Italy', 'Switzerland', 'United Kingdom'
Contact

Associazione Europea delle Vie Francigene
Registered office:
Piazza Duomo, 16, 43036 Fidenza (PR)- Italy
Headquarters:
Palazzo Farnese, Piazza della Cittadella 29, 29121 (PC)- Italy
Tel: +39 0523492792
segreteria@viefrancigene.org

The Via Francigena

The route follows the path taken by Sigeric, Archbishop of Canterbury, who travelled to Rome in 990 to meet Pope John XV and receive the investiture pallium. The 79 stages recorded in the Archbishop’s succinct diary of his journey have made it possible to retrace the key stops on this, the shortest route between Canterbury and Rome, which first became known as the "Via Francigena" in 876.

Presentation

The Via Francigena honours the shared European cultural heritage both as an expression of cultural diversity and identity, by linking together into a single itinerary of outstanding interest a network of routes along which European identity and unity has been created through the centuries.

To rediscover this 1800 km journey through England, France, Switzerland and Italy along the paths followed by pilgrims en route to Rome, onward to Jerusalem or to Santiago de Compostella, the European Association of Vie Francigene (EAVF) was founded on 22nd April 2001. EAVF, as a carrier network, can rely on a partnership between European institutions and local authorities committed to the valorisation of the millenary pilgrimage route in order to promote measures for the development of the Via Francigena as a genuine tourist and cultural product, not only in view of its cultural importance, but also in relation to its potential role as a catalyst for local development, with an emphasis on sustainability.